Return to site

#GE2017: Candidate News

The latest update on progress of Scottish candidate selections...

Below is a summary of the candidates we've confirmed as standing - so far - for Scottish constituencies in the forthcoming General Election. Subscribers to our Candidate Contact Sheet will receive regular updates on candidate selections, contact information and key candidate biographies throughout the campaign.


All 59 candidates are now in place (including all 54 SNP MPs automatically reselected). 

Natalie McGarry and Michelle Thomson – both suspended from the party – have confirmed they are not seeking re-election.

The candidates running in seats with no SNP incumbent are as follows:

  • Glasgow East - David Linden
  • Orkney & Shetland - Miriam Brett
  • Edinburgh South - Jim Eadie
  • Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale and Tweeddale – Màiri McAllan
  • Edinburgh West – Toni Giugliano

Scottish Conservative

Scottish Conservatives have 19 candidates currently selected. Should any of the MSPs or MEP be successful in this election, they will automatically be replaced by a candidate from the respective regional or national party list.

  • Three current MSPs are standing – Douglas Ross (Moray), Ross Thomson (Aberdeen South) and Miles Briggs (Edinburgh South Western).
  • John Lamont has resigned his Scottish Parliament seat to focus on his attempt to win Berwickshire, Roxburgh and Selkirk.
  • Conservative MEP, Ian Duncan, is the candidate for Perth and North Perthshire.

Scottish Labour

All 59 candidates are in place, including their current MP, Ian Murray in Edinburgh South. Of these, 17 candidates are also councillors or council candidates - including Cllr Lesley Laird, Deputy Leader of Fife Council, standing in Kirkcaldy & Cowdenbeath.

Other familiar names are:

  • Former MP, Ian Davidson, candidate for Berwickshire, Roxburgh and Selkirk
  • Former MSP, Cara Hilton, will challenge Dunfermline and West Fife
  • Blair McDougall (formerly of Better Together) standing in East Renfrewshire
  • Mandy Telford (former NUS President) standing in Edinburgh West 
  • Rhea Wolfson (Labour NEC member) standing in Livingston.

Scottish LibDems

7 candidates currently selected.

  • Scottish Liberal Democrats are defending just one seat – Orkney & Shetland – where Alasdair Carmichael is seeking re-election.
  • Former MP Jo Swinson will attempt to win back East Dunbartonshire, the seat she held from 2005-15.
  • Christine Jardine is selected to challenge Edinburgh West. 
All Posts

Almost done…

We just sent you an email. Please click the link in the email to confirm your subscription!

OKSubscriptions powered by Strikingly